About Lachlan Cohen: Composer

Lachlan (b.1991) is an Australian composer and researcher of video game music, based in Australia. His early musical education included studies in classical piano and theory at the Coffs Harbour Regional Conservatorium, where he held the junior and senior scholarships for instrumental study. His interest in composing started during secondary school, and he was largely self-taught until commencing a Bachelor of Music at the University of Newcastle, under the tutelage of composers Colin Spiers and Richard Vella. Graduating in 2016, Lachlan stayed in Newcastle to undertake a Bachelor of Music (Honours), focusing on video game music and immersion in media in which he received a first class degree. Since commencing his journey into professional composition in 2017, he has so far composed original soundtracks for the video games: 

‘The Spy Who Shot Me’ 

‘Verdict Guilty’
‘The Old Man Game’ (Coming Soon)

‘A Way To Die’ (Coming Soon)


Lachlan’s compositions are largely influenced by his classical background but more notably his interest in progressive rock, jazz, post rock, heavy metal, video game music and minimalism. Influences of composers such as Maurice Ravel, Claude Debussy, Mike Oldfield and Steve Reich are apparent in Lachlan’s works, as is the music of bands such as Oceansize and Pain of Salvation.

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon

©2017 by Lachlan Cohen: Composer. Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now